Papas Fritas

Papas Fritas (typically stylized as pApAs fritAs) is an American indie-rock band that formed in 1992 and released three studio albums before quietly breaking up in 2000.

Buildings and Grounds is the third and final studio album by Papas Fritas, released  in March 2000.


  1. "Girl" (Tony Goddess) – 3:18
  2. "People Say" (Goddess, Shivika Asthana) – 4:26
  3. "Way You Walk" (Goddess) – 3:48
  4. "Vertical Lives" (Keith Gendel) – 3:39
  5. "What Am I Supposed to Do?" (Goddess) – 2:58
  6. "Far From an Answer" (Asthana, Goddess) – 4:56
  7. "I Believe in Fate" (Goddess) – 3:58
  8. "It's Over Now" (Asthana, Goddess) – 4:15
  9. "Questions" (Goddess) – 3:18
  10. "Beside You" (Asthana, Goddess) – 3:23
  11. "Another Day" (Goddess) – 3:03
  12. "I'll Be Gone" (Asthana, Ed Buck) – 3:30
  13. "Lost in a Dream" (Goddess) – 3:48


  • Shivika Asthana: drums, vocals
  • Keith Gendel: bass, vocals
  • Tony Goddess: guitar, piano, vocals

Production notes

Recorded at the Columnated Ruins (Gloucester, Mass.) and the Backporch and the Krackhaus (Somerville, Mass.). Engineered and mixed by Paul Sanni ("with supernatural zeal"). Analog consultation by Paul Q. Kolderie. Mastered by Roger Siebel at SAE (Phoenix, Ariz.).


Best Of


Buildings and Grounds


EP ‘Vertical Lives’

Follow us

Subscribe here to our newsletter and receive all the news about our artists and releases!